What is Transit Supportive Land Use?

Transit supportive land use is comprised of higher-density, multi-family residential, commercial, or mixed-use developments that are typically prevalent in transit-oriented development (TOD) patterns. To assist Clayton County’s transit projects in the federal process, MARTA, Clayton County, and local jurisdictions need to work together to implement the Big Five. For more information on the Big Five, see the next section below.

Needs and Goals

Clayton’s future high capacity corridors (SR 54 and SR 85) are not “transit friendly” in terms of land use or zoning. Currently these communities have:

  • Low density
  • Single/homogenous uses
  • Poor walkability
  • Suburban-style site design oriented to car
  • Over-abundance or surface parking

Building Blocks of Transit Supportive Land Use: The Big Five

There are 5 major components common to almost all transit supportive land uses:

Jurisdiction-Specific Land Use Recommendations

In 2022, the MARTA team coordinated with jurisdictions in South Fulton County and Clayton County, along with Clayton County itself to develop amendments to their comprehensive plans. These amendments included language to allow for zoning of land uses that support transit in their geographic areas. Recommendations to the amendments for each jurisdiction is listed below:

Completed Milestones and Next Steps

  • In 2022, three jurisdictions have implemented land use and zoning amendments in their comprehensive plans
  • Continue coordination with jurisdictions
  • Have all jurisdictions along Southlake BRT and SR 54 implement all zoning changes by Summer 2023

Contact Information

Tracie Roberson